Round-Up: Back to School

It’s nearly that time again. School will be starting soon (for some it already has), and it is time to get our little cherubs ready to return to the grind. I was in the bookstore looking for some new options to help everyone get used to the idea of school again and found the following:

 

Monsters Love School

Monsters Love School

Photo from barnesandnoble.com

Author: Mike Austin

Publisher: Harper Collins

Source: Barnes and Noble

 

Who needs to go to school? Not all these little monsters. They know it all already. No reason for them to go at all – or is there? This is a very positive and upbeat book with wonderfully colorful illustrations.

 

If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don’t!

If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School

Photo from barnesandnoble.com

Author: Elise Parsley

Publisher: Little Brown Books

Source: Barnes and Noble

 

A funny story about Magnolia’s little misunderstanding about what a teacher wants for a nature show-and-tell. She may have misunderstood, but she really adds some interest to the school day.

 

 

I always approach these books hopefully, but with some doubts in the back of my mind. I am not sure that a book makes up your child’s mind about school. It certainly didn’t do it for me. I remember my mother’s great pleasure and enthusiasm for me to go to school (and when I became a parent I understood this all too well), yet after a few hours of kindergarten, I decided to decline. I left the classroom and walked back home. Did the teacher realize I was gone? I don’t know. What I do remember is that when I arrived on the doorstep, my mother promptly marched me right back. So much for the enthusiastic pep talks. I understood: I was going whether I liked it or not. I couldn’t change her mind on that point, but mine was never changed either. Though I enjoyed my academic subjects (mostly), I could have done without all the rest of it.

 

Now I know you are all wondering: how did someone who didn’t especially love school come to be working in a school herself? It’s simple. I grew up, worked at some other jobs and learned that there are things that are worse – much worse – than school. So don’t worry too much. If you have a kid like that, they will come around. Just give it some time – you know, twenty or thirty years.

 

Barbara