Pokémon Go Book Tag!

Hi everyone,

Today we’re trying something a little different with our first ever tag! The Pokémon Go Book Tag was created by Aentee @ Read at Midnight; we’re also using her graphics to go along with the tag. Thanks to Sophie @ Blame Chocolate for tagging us!

pokemon-go-book-tag

pokemon-tag-01starters

There are so. many. books. I could pick for this! I’d say there are some books that changed the way I read – for example, The Outsiders was the first book that made me a re-reader. But, one of the first books that made me fall in love with reading as a child is Bread and Jam for Frances by Russell and Lillian Hoban. When I was little, I read this book so many times that I had it memorized and could recite it well enough that I tricked people into thinking I was reading.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

I had a hard time picking this one (Cather in the Rye was a close contender!), but I think my answer has to be The Great Gatsby. I love everything about this book, from the cover to the movies to the characters to the author’s life story.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

This makes me feel like a bad YA reader, but I just cannot do The Hunger Games. I’ve read the first one and enjoyed it but can’t bring myself to read any more of them. Also, there are too many spoilers, and I’m not happy about some of them. I feel similarly about the Divergent series.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto  This isn’t a specific book, but there is So. Much. Dystopian. YA. right now! I really enjoy them but definitely think some are better than others. I don’t know why this is such a big thing right now, but it’s definitely not new.

I also LOVE all the YA parody accounts on Twitter that play off these tropes!

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

Okay. I am THE WORST at reading series, so I think my answer for this has to be almost all of them. I almost never read beyond the first book in a series, and I haven’t read a sequel in (an estimated) eight years. That’s not to say that I don’t like them; it’s just that there are so many other books that I want to read! I’m making an attempt to change this bad reading habit, so be sure to check out my progress next month!

pokemon-tag06-gengar

I can think of a number of scary books that kept me awake, but I’ve decided to answer with the most recent book that literally wouldn’t let me rest until I finished it. I’ll Give You the Sun was such an emotional rollercoaster, and I fell so deeply in love with these characters and their story that I read (and wept) straight through to the morning.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

I don’t think I have one?! Should I?

pokemon-tag08-rapidashEven though I thought the ending was a little weaker than the beginning, I’m going to go with I Am Princess X, which I loved and completely devoured. I always think the graphic novel-prose mix makes a book go by so much faster, and I loved the mystery at the beginning of this one.pokemon-tag09-eevee

Hands down, Harry Potter. Harry Potter is one of the few series I’ve read completely and absolutely love. I think a lot of my love for the series is because I was part of that lucky group of people who grew up along with Harry. I can’t wait to read The Cursed Child, and I’m already s o e x c i t e d for the Fantastic Beasts movie!

pokemon-tag10-egg      Maybe Caraval by Stephanie Garber? I just saw some #bookstagram posts about it, and I also have a deep love of circuses. I recently reread Water for Elephants and LOVE The Night Circus, so I’d be really happy if it was something along those lines! pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Probably too many – I never have enough space for all my books, haha! But S.E. Hinton, Holly Black, Laurie Halse Anderson, Francesca Lia Block, and Scott Westerfeld are among my favorite, can’t resist authors.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

Well, we already know that series books make me a little nervous but The Lunar Chronicles and Red Queen maybe? I have read Cinder because Cinderella is my favorite fairy tale, and I used it as part of my thesis in college. Should I read the rest of the series? Also, I don’t know if this counts for this question, but I remember liking the Wicked Lovely series and wanting to continue reading that, too!

pokemon-tag13-server-down       This seems like an overly obvious answer but Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! I have heard a lot of mixed comments on this one and can’t wait to see how it goes!pokemon-tag14-magikarp

So, I read a lot of autobiographies, and I especially like when they’re funny. I’ve read a lot of other powerful women/comedians’ books and thought Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling might be just more of the same. Instead I found it so funny and more relatable for my age group than some of the others. This was definitely a quick read for me, but I already can’t wait to check out her other book.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwoHere’s another question where I could have a ton of different answers because I definitely have a weakness for jacket art. I’d love first editions of The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and The Crow by James O’Barr. I’d say those are the two books I tend to look out for when I go to used bookstores. I would also love a complete set of the new Harry Potter covers, to say nothing of the illustrated editions.

And now I have a couple people to tag!

  • I would love to see Sarah @ The Critiquing Chemist do this tag! I love her reviews and always get unexpected reading suggestions from her posts.
  • YAPS! does great YA reviews, and I’d love to see how they answer some of these questions!
  • Anyone else who wants to do the tag!

Julia

 

Note: Pokemon Go belongs to Niantic and Nintendo

6 thoughts on “Pokémon Go Book Tag!

  1. sophiethestark says:

    If you liked Cinder, the following books get even better!
    I only read the first book of Wicked Lovely but liked it a long, so maybe we’ll both be reading the rest of the series haha
    Hope you do more tags ❤

    Like

    • 2bookwormsblog says:

      Thanks so much! I’ve heard that the following books get better in The Lunar Chronicles, which is so nice to hear. I feel like that’s not the case with some other series I’ve started. And yes! I definitely want to go back to Wicked Lovely and would love to hear what you think of it! Thanks again for tagging us!

      Liked by 1 person

      • sophiethestark says:

        No problem at all! Tags are only fun if more people participate ^^
        I need to re-read Wicked Lovely but from what I remember it was a really nice urban fantasy with a dark, twisted touch. I heard the second book is even darker, but since it’s a new character’s POV I’m quite hesitant to try it. Despite the general opinion on the contrary, I really liked Aislinn (and Seth!) and I just want to read more about them.
        Thank you for accepting my tag! ❤

        Like

      • 2bookwormsblog says:

        I didn’t realize people didn’t like Aislinn! I feel like I remember liking her and obv Seth, too. I also secretly wanted to live in Seth’s train, haha. I think there are a lot of books in the series now though(??), which I find very intimidating. We’ve been tossing around some ideas for starting some kind of book club/discussion group in the our book blogging community – maybe we should include Wicked Lovely on our tbr list!

        Like

Leave a comment